Duimbo

1 Nov

It’s been over a week since I had my interview, and so far, I’ve heard nothing. Maybe I  didn’t get the job. Maybe I did. Maybe I’ll be staying at the job I have now. Maybe I won’t. I’ve basically entered a stage of interview limbo. Part of me is imagining my life at this new job: my own cubicle, first class flights across the country, a new apartment in New York, and a gleeful farewell to the constant ache in my side I like to call crippling life anxiety. But the other part of me has a sinking feeling that I won’t be getting this job. Then there’s the limbo part of me, that doesn’t know what to think. I’m tired of being depressed, but I don’t want to disappoint myself with being happy.

Now, this type of limbo would be ok if I wasn’t also dealing with my other limbo, called life. Let’s think back to just five months ago. I was at the cusp of my future, and my hair finally looked good. Life was marvelous. Then I got this job. I know that this isn’t my life profession and that eventually, I’ll have another job. But right now, I’m just sorting of waiting it out. Thus, duimbo. Duel limbo. Get it?

I don’t really want to get into how much time it took and how many word combinations I rattled around in my head until I got that little gem. Let’s just say I have a lot of time to spend thinking about this kind of stuff, and I was tired of thinking about ideas for Made submissions. (Although I would make a really good rockette…or a surfer…or a breakdancing circus performer. Just think about it.) Anyway, now I have a term….a diagnosis. And like everyone else who suffers from something they can’t put their finger on, then suddenly can, it feels good! Now, when someone asks me why I’m gnawing at my fingernails until 3 in the morning, I can tell them I have a grave case of duimbo. Or when someone is curious as to why I’m spending yet another Saturday night drinking red wine out of a sippie-cup with my parents, it’s because of duimbo. (Repeat for Sunday-Friday nights as well…) So refreshing to get that out there!

Now if only I could find a cure.

One Response to “Duimbo”

  1. Laura November 3, 2010 at 4:51 am #

    On-Line Dating, no… BUT REALLY.

Leave a Reply

