A(Fond…or maybe not)Farewell

21 Nov

The other night, I finished my final shift at my now-old job. There were tears, hugs, and fond farewells….eh, NOT. It was more of me counting down the seconds, bolting towards the door, and feeling the weight of a challenging six months disintegrate with the final turn of the revolving door. It was actually symbolic in a few ways, the first being that my last day was exactly six months from my first day, and the second being that I left the building alone, exactly how I came in. I expected a film crew to yell “CUT” as I left the building and some rolling credits to appear as I looked hopefully up at the midtown sky, but no one really noticed. Big surprise.

The past couple of days at work have only made me breathe an even deeper sigh of relief as people have reacted to the news that I’m leaving. Pretty much every reaction I got was that I was lucky to be getting out. One of the senior people at my job bent over and whispered maniacally, “It’s better to get out now, because it’s hard to escape this place once you’re in.” What is this, some secret prison disguised as a computer lab? Judging from some of the people I worked with, I wouldn’t be surprised if there was a parole officer on the 3rd floor.

Obviously, I don’t need any justification for why I’m leaving this job, and I’ve been trying to rack my brain for something positive that I can take away from it. Of course, I met some nice people, had access to free coffee, and got to watch Glee uninterrupted on Tuesday nights. But I can’t think of much on a professional level that will be of use to me in the future, although I’m sure my stellar CTRL C and V skills will be an advantage at my next job. I can’t wait to blow these people away with how expertly I can copy, paste and fashion generic emails, skills which will surely set me apart.

I’m just happy for the clean break and a fresh start. Now that I’ve gotten through the “first-job” stage of my life, I can move on knowing I certainly aced the despaired 20-something stereotype. Hopefully I can move on to the driven, ambitious, and delightfully naive college-grad next. That is, if I can find her.

Leave a Reply

