A Jam-Packed, Boredom-Proof Overnight

11 Dec

Weekend over-night shifts pretty much blow. The night is long, the news is slow, and even listening to Christmas music on Pandora isn’t doing it for me tonight. A typical weekend over night shift goes something like this:

12:00: Get into work

12:01 – 7:59: Do nothing

8:00: Leave

Now, I’m no stranger to being bored at work, and if my last job taught me anything, it’s that you need to be prepared to save your brain from melting out of your head (which almost happened once). I prepare for the weekend during the week, and will collect interesting articles, hold off on watching my TV shows (easy now that I’m sleeping through most of them) and lean on my arsenal of boredom preventing standards, which include and are not limited to:

  • Watching Glee: I love Glee, but it is so awkward sometimes! I can’t keep my eye-rolling and squirming to myself, and my cover gets blown.
  • Anything related to the movie Blue Valentine and/or Ryan Gosling: This is a pretty flexible one, and is adjusted depending on what is prompting my obsession du jour. Over the summer, it was Inception, which I still haven’t seen, and every magazine article ever written about Joseph Gordon-Levitt.
  • The New York Times: Maybe if I read it enough, they will hire me.
  • Various blogs that make me want to become a graphic designer, or live in the 1940s: I recently stumbled on Design Sponge, and am pretty much coveting every single thing on it. View the slide show, and then tell me you don’t want to own an apartment in Brooklyn and wear T-strap shoes.
  • This blog: Not as narcissistic as it sounds. It definitely takes time to compile all this greatness (there it is). Hey, this post is honestly kind of pointless, but it ate up about an hour of my time, and it looks nice. Now it’s 5 am and I’m closing in on the final stretch! All that’s left to do is trawl craigslist and salivate over apartments that I’m probably not going to be renting anytime soon. Sigh.

So in the span of 8 hours, I manage to catch up on all my leisure reading,  do some Facebook stalking, watch 3 hours of TV, and compile a blog no one will read!

All in a night’s work.

One Response to “A Jam-Packed, Boredom-Proof Overnight”

  1. Laura December 16, 2010 at 4:36 am #

    I read

Leave a Reply

