Woah….I’m working during the day

12 Dec

This is pretty crazy…it’s almost 2:00 in the afternoon, and I’m not crawling into my bed! Yes, I’m actually working during the day. Pretty bizarre. This is the first time in almost a month that I’m working a daytime shift, but to be sure I don’t get too freaked out,  it is a Sunday, so I’m still working when no one else is. We’re halfway there though, so the sky’s the limit at this point.

The great thing about working during the day is the lack of oddness of not working during the day. I can actually focus on other things, besides the fact that it’s 4 am and I’m in the middle of a shift. But other than that, it’s pretty much the same. I’m still pretty tired, I still drank four cups of coffee this morning, I still came to work when it was dark and I still won’t see the light of day (yet another windowless office space).  Plus, I’m almost a little annoyed that I have to work through the day, because I have the next two off, which really becomes one and a half with my bizarre sleep schedule, which is down from the two and a half that I get when I work my “normal” shift. The nerve!

But all in all, the past few days have been a nice little trek back into normalcy. Yesterday, I went for a jog, helped decorate my house for the holiday, and ate a dinner that didn’t consist of a handful of peanuts and a bowl of Wheaties. And I actually felt rested when I woke up this morning and poured half a pot of coffee into my travel mug. Plus, I can look forward to yet another home cooked meal tonight when I get home….at dinner time. I’ll enjoy it while it lasts, because it’ll be weeks before I’ll experience the pleasure of prime time TV and chicken Parmesan again.

It’s amazing what I’ve come to appreciate since I’ve left college, namely dinner, sleep, and the beauty of a 24-hour gas station, but it’s nice to live a normal life for just one day, even if it’s halved. I get what I can take these days.

Leave a Reply

