Obvious but Necessary: A Resolutions Post

1 Jan

Ah, New Years. Where to begin? Should I reflect back, look forward….cry some more? No, definitely no more crying in 2011. I need to get a grip, hold myself up high, and focus on the good things in my life. Perhaps the glass of champagne that greeted me as I walked into work tonight can be the first of such positives?

Now of course, 2010 wasn’t a bad year. Challenging seems a more fitting phrase, but it had its share of good moments. I graduated from college, had a great internship which at the time exposed me to some pristine life-clarity, and made some new friends. I also learned a lot about myself–I have a penchant for road rage and breaking down into hysterical tears, have become an expert on managing life with constant, often crippling self-doubt, and realized my life’s work is better without that pesky second word. But the positives! We’re focusing on the positives. Let’s see….I made some money? Ugh, I give up.

Naturally, I love New Years, because I am the queen of the “fresh start.” Every Sunday signals a new week, every Monday a new work week, the first of the month, the first hour of the day….all of those times I get to wipe my slate clean, whip up another list and plow through my day. So my New Year’s Resolutions are like the ultimate list, and like every other bullet point scratched on a post-it, most of them never get done. But maybe this is my year. Positive. THIS IS MY YEAR. And so, my resolutions:

1. Travel: Maybe if I just stay out of the country long enough, I can come back and my life will be perfect.

2. Move out: After being informed by my father in a random, totally out-of-the-blue conversation that my sister has nabbed the  “favorite daughter spot for the 10th year in a row”, I think it’s time to scour Craigslist, buy a futon, and resume life as a poor, penny-pinching 20-something.

3. Stop biting my nails: Standard. For the past 22 years.

4.  Find a social life: Texting my friends once a week and having one-sided conversations with the radio DJ does not a social life make.

5. Move forward…or move on: So far, I’m six months into chasing my dream….and I haven’t gotten very far. Hopefully I can move up and far away from these overnight hours and trivial work and towards something I actually want to be doing. Not my dream job, but something within the wide net of it. If not, 2011 maybe the time to take a step back and re-route this road I’ve been stumbling down since May.

6. Wear more red lipstick and listen to jazz: 2011 is going to be a classy year for me, dollface. I’ll be pulled together, refined, and stylish. And everything will all work out.

So we shall see what this year brings. I’m visualizing perfect hair, a male model on my arm, and a car service taking me to and from work. Hey, can’t fault me for really, really trying to be positive.

Happy New Year everyone!!

Leave a Reply

