I’d Forgotten That I’m 22…Until I Went to Canada

15 Jan

Yay, I’m young! After a fabulous vacation to Canada, I realized that contrary to my current lifestyle, I’m actually 22 years old and not a 45-year old spinster with a penchant for red wine and eye bags. How refreshing it was to hang out with people my age, dance the night away, wear denim, and drink bloody-Mary’s with dinner. Ok, so maybe that last one is more senior citizen than party animal, but they were 2 for 1, so why not, right?

It was just really nice to let loose this week. The past few months have been tough, and I’ve lost some of my sense of how to relax and have fun without dragging my stress into the picture. Plus, hanging out with college kids reminded me that I was there just six months ago, so I’m not as far from that time as it often seems.

Bottom line: I had a lot of fun this week! I skied a lot, met some really great people, watched silly movies, and most importantly, ate a really big crepe. I also stayed out late, got up early, and was generally pretty bad-ass. What I didn’t do was check emails, answer my phone, or stress and worry at all. All that Canadian air cleared my head big time.

Now that I’m back at work, I feel really refreshed. I’ve been busier today than I have in a while, and am ready to face the music: I need to work harder, speak up, and get what I want. I actually have a pretty good idea how I’m going to go about that, and it doesn’t include hysterical tears and venting through gangster rap on the way home.  Right now, my head is screwed on straight for the first time in a long time. I should have taken a vacation months ago!

Leave a Reply

