Getting the Giggles: NSFW

21 Jan

I don’t know what got into me, (although I would guess it was the combination of cold pills and cough syrup…) but I had a serious case of the giggles the other night at work. I tend to pride myself on my maturity and professionalism, but right from the start, I could not get my laughter under control! It started after I saw this headline in one of the local papers:

WOMAN ARRESTED AFTER PUNCHING A POLICE HORSE

I mean, come on! Can that get any more hilarious? (Yes.) That would send anyone into hysterics, right? (Wrong.) Ahem, anyway, I tried to share this highly news-worthy gem with my co-worker, but could barely get the words out! I should have closed the tab on my computer, gathered my thoughts and found another, more serious story, but I really wanted to include that in my nightly news note. So for the next 20 MINUTES, I struggled to summarize the two-paragraph story about a woman who is now sitting in jail facing battery charges after hitting a horse on the nosehahahaha. Of course, I finally did it, because I am a professional.

Then, an hour later, that same co-worker was really struggling to stay awake and decided to take a 5-hour energy shot. An hour after that, she was complaining of being hot and feeling sick, so in our 3 am delirium, we both decided to research possible side-effects. Apparently, the drink could cause you to overdose on vitamin B, which in the most extreme–and improbable–cases, could lead to paralysis.

Now obviously, I don’t find paralysis a humorous subject, but sharing the news with her had me once again disintegrating into uncontrollable laughter! And naturally, she didn’t really find that funny at all. “That’s not funny,” she said stonily, before turning back to her work and wiping the sweat from her brow. Well, that certainly straightened me out! Apparently the way to get yourself back on the serious side is to have a superior glare at you disapprovingly after telling her she might never walk again! The thought of losing my job over some cheap paralysis joke (like that hasn’t been done before…) had me scouring the papers for road-side bomb and hostage situation news coverage.

But at the end of the night, that horse slapping story was still a beacon of hilariousness among other depressing news. That’s when I decided I’m officially swearing off cold-remedies before work, and made the editorial decision to not cover anymore rogue horse-slappers in mainstream mediahahahaha. Ok, it’s out of my system, I swear! But come on! The woman was arrested for slapping a horse! Does it get much better than that?

Leave a Reply

