DAMN YOU SPELL CHECK

23 Jan

HOLY MOTHER OF THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE. I am an idiot.

Tonight, I decided my “big project” was going to be figuring out how to make an email signature. Considering it took me almost an hour to learn how to turn on my “out of office assistant,” I anticipated this being more involved than it actually was. You’re looking at the next IT mastermind, let me tell you…

Anyway, ten minutes later, I was in business, just in time to send out my hourly updates to a group of about 15 people. Badda-bing, badda-boom, email sent, signature signed OMG I SPELLED ASSISTANT WRONG.

WTF, ME?

My immediate reaction:

Honestly, this is pretty inexcusable. Not only did I graduate from a good university with a high GPA, but I MAJORED IN JOURNALISM AND NOW WORK IN THE MEDIA. WHICH MEANS WRITING. WHICH MEANS I SHOULD BE ABLE TO SPELL WORDS LIKE ASSISTANT.

But even worse….someone emailed me to point out my gaffe:

“Not to embarrass you, so please don’t feel bad, but I noticed you misspelled “assistant” in your signature line.”

Ugh, could I be any more embarrassed?! Could I feel any worse?! Never again will I rely on spell-check alone (I say that like relying on my brain is any better…). Of course, I fixed it immediately, and thanked him for pointing it out, but the damage is done!  Please God, just take me now!

3 Responses to “DAMN YOU SPELL CHECK”

  1. Laura January 25, 2011 at 2:08 am #

    How’d you spell it?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oops, I Did It Again « Working Girl Smiling - May 3, 2011

    […] may recall just a few months ago, my excruciating embarrassment over a spelling error in a mass email I sent out, where I spelled “assistant” wrong. You would think after the shame I felt […]

  2. A Not-So-Funny Joke « Working Girl Smiling - September 2, 2011

    […] OCD tendencies have me checking emails six or seven times through before sending, to avoid previous faux pas, but just thinking about what could’ve happened is enough for me to slink to the water cooler […]

Leave a Reply

