My Chubby Brain

25 Feb

Whew! What. A. Week. I finally started my new job and it has been a whirlwind couple of days! My new co-workers wasted no time thrusting me into the day-to-day craziness, and I’ve been running around the office, willing the clock to slow down so I can get it all done! Hey, this is what I’ve been begging for since last May, and boy, have they delivered!

Basically, I’m overwhelmed. By the job, the work, the commute, all the sunlight…it’s hard to remember when I was this busy and asked to multi-task on so many levels! The benefit is that I interned here before, so I knew what to expect going in, but my sluggish brain is taking some time to adjust.

Yes, my brain has gained a few pounds of unimportant drivel in the months since I’ve graduated and worked jobs that asked little of me. At the end of my last job, I was getting frazzled when more than one phone would ring, which is when my brain was at its most obese. All the TV watching, silly internet searching, and general idleness packed the pounds onto my nogin.

But now, it’s like my brain is going on a crash diet, and it’s leaving me exhausted! Every night this week I’ve collapsed into bed at 10 pm, completely drained, my mind whirring from the day, a new to-do list forming already. I need to get this thing back into its former shape! No more day-time TV, no more Perez Hilton, no more Facebook! Honestly, I’ve been so busy that I don’t even have time for that stuff anyway. I feel lighter already!

Pretty soon, this brain is going to have a rippled frontal lobe and a perfectly toned cerebellum. And I didn’t even have to do one sit-up! If only that worked for the rest of me…

Leave a Reply

