The Dumbest Thing I’ve Ever Thought

1 Mar

On my first day of work, New Jersey Transit Bus 193 actually got into New York City on time. Despite the fact we were at the tail end of rush hour and I actually needed to be somewhere, the bus whizzed past cars and other trucks in A BUS LANE. Yes, in the mornings, there is a separate lane for buses.  In my joyous delirium, a thought popped up in my head:

“Wow,” thought I. “This bus lane is really great. Maybe commuting everyday at peak times won’t be so bad after all.”

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is the dumbest thought that has ever entered into my brain. Trust me, I think about a lot of dumb things, so for this thought to have such a classification means something! Since that one pain-free commute, I’ve sat in traffic leaving the city at 6:30, 7:00 and 8:30 pm, had to take a train into the city after a four car pileup shut the Lincoln Tunnel down, followed a dump truck 12 miles down a deserted road at the end of an 11 hour day,  ran for the bus after leaving more than an hour in advance, sat in traffic due to accidents on rainy and non-rainy days, and haven’t made it to work or home in less than two and a half hours.

I just started work six days ago.

Commuting totally sucks. Of course, this is not a new sentiment from me, but for one shining moment, I saw myself actually being able to handle the daily commute without facing a complete emotional breakdown. Now…I’m not so sure. I finally feel happy when it comes to my working situation, so would it be that hard to give me an easier commute? With the entire tri-state area transit system rallying against me, it will never be that easy.

Leave a Reply

