See-Sawing

7 Mar

Yikes, it’s been a while since I’ve updated this thing! Bear with me…work has been out of control busy! But nothing is more fulfilling that falling into bed at the end of a 13 hour day with the knowledge that I actually accomplished something greater than reading the entire Style section in an afternoon! There is just something about this job that puts me into high-drive mode–somehow, I manage to get everything done, half the time amazed that I even know what/how I’m doing it. I just feel made to do this. Perhaps it’s my zeal for hyper-organization, my desire to pack way more into a day than is possible, and my controlling tendencies that fit perfectly with my job title. Despite the fact that I am physically and mentally exhausted at the end of the day: I ASKED FOR THIS. And boy are they giving it! And giving a little more.

But this job is completely within the nature of this past year: total extremes. I went from being a confident, independent person before graduation to a paranoid, sniveling baby less than two days later. I’ve cried with joy only to find myself weeping with such post-grad angst I could’ve been the inspiration for every emo album ever made . I’ve gone from staring at the wall for an uninterrupted eight hours to working until 10 pm on a Friday night just to get everything done. Is this what life after graduation entails–a total see-saw of actions and emotions? Why wasn’t I warned that I would need a prescription for Valium and Prozac, to be taken at once? That should be part of the graduation checklist!

Leave a Reply

