I’m Actually Thinking Some Rational Thoughts

25 Mar

I’m about three weeks into serious apartment hunting, and it’s been quite an experience. My first foray started out a bit rocky, (recall cigarette smoke, Axl Rose) and since then, I’ve seen a few more places but haven’t been completely sold. You’d think I’d be so desperate to find a place that I’d live in a cardboard box if it meant I could chop my commute in half, but the minute I start inching towards the reality of actually making a decision, a strange thing happens to my brain: I begin to think rationally.

Rational is not the first word I would use to describe myself, but when faced with real life and its enormous expense, I start thinking things like “Is it really necessary to have an apartment when you have a place to live already?” or “Wouldn’t it be a good idea to wait until you’re hired on full-time instead of being freelance?” and “What about your car?” And that, ladies and gentlemen, is when I know I’ve gone crazy. When my car suddenly becomes something important to me.

But my rational thoughts have a point. Sure, it’s inconvenient to spend five hours of my day trapped on a New Jersey Transit bus, but what else would I be doing with my time? As much as I say I want to learn to play cello, or take an evening French class, would I really do it? And as much as I hate my car (with a fiery, burning passion) I still spent a significant chunk of change on it, and leaving it to rot in my parents driveway–while satisfying–seems like a waste of money. Plus, monthly rent money could go towards more vacations, the new camera I’ve been eying, or a nicer apartment in the future.

Could it be that I’m not only thinking rationally, but like an actual adult???

Leave a Reply

