My Free Time Has Become Less Intelligent

29 Mar

Yesterday was a sad day for me–The New York Times subscription plan started. Because I hate paying for things, I haven’t signed up for the $15 full access fee and am now relegated to a meager 20 articles a month. In my prime, I was whipping through 20+ articles A DAY. Plus photo slide shows!

My love for the New York Times is deep. On my way to work, I typically do penance in front of the building, which is directly across from the Port Authority. Amid the cigarette smoke and mayhem, I pray that someday I can darken their door. Sometimes, I will leave the homepage up just to stare at, hoping the quality of writing will be absorbed through the computer and into my brain. The Times was the reason behind my choice in career–an essay and photo spread on the night shift at New York’s popular museums cemented my almost obsessive passion for the paper and an undying desire to write for their magazine.

But the past two days have been difficult as I’ve had to actually think through my choice of reading material. Headlines are out–I can read that elsewhere. But the features! Oooo the features! And the magazine! And the travel section! And the weddings and celebrations! Where else can I read about Upper East Side cotillions, fantasize about 36 hours in Bali, and read incredibly pretentious theater reviews?

This is not something I’m used to. I click through the Times in such a pell-mell fashion I hardly know what or why I chose something. But now, it’s a process. Plus, today I clicked on an article and it was only half a page long! I feel cheated.

Why are you doing this to me, New York Times? Could it be you’re trying to secure your future so that one day there could quite possibly be a job for me?? Could you be attempting to color the hair on The Gray Lady and save it from a slow and painful death?? In that case, credit cards out people!! A round of subscriptions for all!

One Response to “My Free Time Has Become Less Intelligent”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Dreaded Email « Working Girl Smiling - April 4, 2011

    […] other day, I posted what basically amounted to a love letter to my beloved New York Times. But today, they spit in my face. They tore my heart out and stomped […]

Leave a Reply

