The Dreaded Email

4 Apr

The other day, I posted what basically amounted to a love letter to my beloved New York Times. But today, they spit in my face. They tore my heart out and stomped on it with their journalistic shoes.

They sent me this message:

“You have 5 of 20 free articles remaining this month”

First of all, it’s April 4. Technically, the “month” started last Monday when they introduced their plan, but in just one week, I’ve practically exhausted my months supply! All along, I thought I was being a conservative reader–I struggled with my choices; painstakingly chose my articles. I tried to find them published elsewhere. I SKIPPED THE SLIDE SHOWS. It was a tough week.

But what really irked me was that little message–a bit brusque, wouldn’t you agree? You’d think they’d be a little gentler as they RIPPED OUT MY SOUL. And what makes it even worse is this little factoid I happened upon last week:

“New York Times Co.’s efforts to charge readers…will get an early boost from one advertiser–Ford Motor Co.’s Lincoln brand. Lincoln…has targeted 200,000 heavy readers of the newspaper’s website with an offer to sponsor their digital subscription for 2011.” (WSJ)

WHERE WAS MY EMAIL?????  Listen, I know I have a flair for the over-dramatic, but this is not fair! 200,000 people get the email and my inbox is devoid?? The whole thing just seems unapologetic. Shouldn’t they at least send me a letter acknowledging my persistent and obsessive love? Perhaps something along the lines of: “We’re sorry you are not one of the chosen ones, and to truly express our apology, we will set you up with a free, life-time subscription plan. Yay!” Now is that really so hard??

Of course, what would be easier is if I just signed up and started paying. Sigh. So many life choices!

Leave a Reply

