A Taste of the Better Life

15 Apr

Last night, I went out to dinner with some friends, and quickly deemed it pointless to commute home, only to sleep for 6 hours before slogging back in. So I stayed over, had some much-needed catch up time, and GOT TO WORK IN 20 MINUTES. Mind. Blown.

Ah, and what a wonderful morning it was! Because I didn’t anticipate my entire morning commute to take less than my daily walk from the bus station to my office, I had about 45 minutes to spare before checking in for the day. So I spent it waltzing through Central Park, breathing in the intoxicating scent of spring, listening to Ella Fitzgerald and grinning like an idiot. It was nice.

Of course, the first thing I did when I got in was log back on to Craigslist, which I have been steadfastly avoiding for the past few weeks. It was my  Lenten  promise: No unnecessary salivating over real estate. But I just folded into temptation like a soggy piece of cardboard and spent the next hour clicking and Google mapping and once again becoming horrified at how unbelievably expensive an apartment is. So I gathered up every ounce of self-control I could muster and closed Craigslist, silently resigning myself to a few more months of commuting anguish.

At least I will have this morning’s memory to savor when I’m pushing through the crowds at Port Authority tonight, struggling to get on a bus and back home in less than three hours.  I’ll just start reciting my happiness mantra now: 20 minutes. Spring. Smiling. Unfettered joy. Repeat.

One Response to “A Taste of the Better Life”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spring Fever « Working Girl Smiling - May 6, 2011

    […] city again last night, so I was able to recreate the wonderful morning I had a few weeks ago…Ella Fitzgerald and all. The blue sky, perfect temperature and blooming flowers made for a perfect start to the end of yet […]

Leave a Reply

