A Journalism Love Letter

2 May

What a time to be a part of the news media! Last night, I was pulled out of bed by the news that Osama Bin Laden was dead, and my first response was “It’ll be a busy day at work tomorrow!” When I came into work this morning and saw the slew of emails from the tireless journalists who work around the clock to bring every possible detail to light, I was stuck by how lucky I am to work in this business with such inspiring and influential people.

Today is just another notch in the high I’ve been feeling over the past few days. Friday was the Royal Wedding, and I was at work at 3:30 AM…experiencing an unpleasant bout of deja vu! I thought I’d kissed those horrendous hours goodbye, but there I was, chugging down coffee and rubbing the sleep from my eyes. But unlike my past jobs, where I’ve felt isolated and often useless, on Friday, I really felt like a part of the team. The rush of adrenaline when Kate came out and the collective “awws” from the other people slogging away with me created such a sense of camaraderie, I wanted to give every one of my colleagues a big hug. Everyone was working towards a collective goal, and the sense of accomplishment (and intense fatigue) was really rewarding.

These past few days have reminded me why I chose this career path in the first place. Sure, there have been some blips on the road, which have often overshadowed my passion for journalism and made me doubt my choices, but to say “I was there when…” and rattle off a list of life-changing moments is not something we all get to say! And to think I still have a lifetime worth of a career to experience is really exciting!

Sigh…I really love my job.

Leave a Reply

