MIA

27 May

What a week what a week WHAT A CRAZY, INSANE, BUSY, EXHAUSTING, TOTALLY RIDICULOUS WEEK.

Where to even begin? Where to even end? My head is swirling, my feet are aching, and I am officially counting down the seconds to the holiday weekend. This week, I neglected everything: sleep, square meals, social conversation and this blog, because work threw me for a loop and just kept looping, making me totally MIA in pretty much every aspect of my life.

I came in on Monday refreshed from a good weekend, hoping work would pick up a bit, only to be assigned to three separate projects, all with intense and urgent demands. I worked three 12 hour days, thinking everything was squared away, and then I worked a 14 hour day. I spent my bus rides thinking about the next day’s to-do list while trying to unwind from the day before! I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO BUSY IN MY LIFE.

But this is when I really love my job! The craziness puts me into high-drive mode, which is where I thrive. I pound out work, I focus in, and an orb of total confidence surrounds me. I know I can get it all done, and somehow, someway, I do. Of course, with my total focus on work, I haven’t spoken to my parents in four days, have gotten very little sleep, and have an email inbox filled to bursting. I’m still working on that life-work balance, which is practically impossible with the job I have!

And now the payoff: a luxurious three-day weekend, the first national holiday I DON’T have to work on since I started working last year! TGIFALW (and long weekend!)!!!

One Response to “MIA”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Calm After the Storm « Working Girl Smiling - June 1, 2011

    […] week was super intense. I was operating at a high-octane pace all week, only to slam into the weekend and promptly sleep […]

Leave a Reply

