So Long for Now

24 Jun

Saying goodbye truly, truly sucks. Fortunately, I haven’t had to say it too often–the only other big time was when I transferred colleges and left behind one of the most hilarious and fabulous people in my life. We’ve managed to stay in touch and visit, but at the time, it felt like it was goodbye for good. No more late night chats in the dorms, no more Wednesday cafeteria macaroni and cheese. It all felt very finite.

And now, in the space of a week, I’ve had to go through these feelings a whopping 3 more times. Three of my very-closest friends are leaving New York–one jetted to Italy, one will be moving to San Francisco, and one is off to law school. Of course, I’m so happy and excited for them. They deserve every last adventure and opportunity coming their way. But I will and already am missing them.

Sometimes being an adult is just unbelievably challenging.  Thank God I had my friends in my life over this past year, or else I’d be writing this blog from the East Wing of the Bellevue Psychiatric Ward. They’ve kept me laughing, offered me their beds and futons, put up with my constant lateness and scheduling conflicts, and have listened as I’ve gradually moved from total life desperation to something resembling normalcy. I am lucky to have them.

And now I’m crying in my cubicle, trying to find the best way to end this post. For once, I don’t really have the words, so I’ll use my friend Patrick’s, who signed off on his own blog with this:

“I have all of my friends and family to thank for being incredibly supportive and truly being there for me. I could not ask for better.”
One Response to “So Long for Now”

  1. Laura June 25, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    Ahhhhh I’m fabulous!? P.S. Macaroni and Cheese Wednesdays… went downhill after sophomore year… seriously Sassy Chef failed me.

Leave a Reply

