Sunday, Funday….Workday? (Part 2)

20 Jul

There are only so many times you can hear “Hotel California” in a single car ride before it starts to grate on the nerves. Between Boston and Hampton Beach, New Hampshire, I literally heard snippets of it at least a dozen times. It’s an OK song, but seriously? Of all the songs in the world available for a summer radio play list, that’s the one on rotation? Needless to say, I was more than eager to get there.

Surprisingly, I was making good time, and thought maybe, just maybe, I might actually be on time to something! But alas, I was not. Because alas….I once again got lost.

Now, lost is perhaps not the best phrase for what happened. I was following the directions, I was on all the right roads, I just couldn’t seem to find the particular street I was looking for. So I crawled all the way through traffic on one side of the road, and thinking this particular road had ended, turned around and crawled all the way back. And then I turned around and did that two more times before finally pulling over at a gas station and asking where the hell this town was! Well it turns out I was cutting this road short by about 500 feet, and sure enough, I found the turn off and was pulling into the parking lot a half hour late.

(Aside: WHY DIDN’T I GET A GPS???? WHY?? WHY IN GOD’S NAME WHYYYYYYY????)

(Aside #2: WHY AM I SUCH A BAD DRIVER?? WHY?? WHY IN GOD’S NAME WHYYYYYYY????)

Ahem, anyway, the rest of the day went really well, the weather was beautiful, and I got a taste of my future in the biz. (That’s what people “in the biz” say, right?) But typically, entry-level imps like me don’t get to run a shoot on their own, and I was loving it! Too bad it lasted a measly hour, just long enough to get a few breaths of fresh air before packing in the car and going back from whence I came!

Obviously, the trip back was a breeze, since at this point, I had pretty much surveyed every square mile of road between New Hampshire and Boston. And thankfully, the airport was heavily signed, so I was able to get an earlier flight! I was back roasting in my apartment by 8 pm, relishing in my new “professional journalist” role. Did New Hampshire give me a big head?? No, no, definitely not…..

Read Part 1 here.

One Response to “Sunday, Funday….Workday? (Part 2)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Expense Reports « Working Girl Smiling - August 8, 2011

    […] my business trip a few weeks ago, I had taken a cab from the airport to avoid spending three hours trying to get […]

Leave a Reply

