Good Night, Brooklyn

17 Aug

Tonight will be my last night as a subletter. It’s been a good run–the five weeks has absolutely flown by, and a vacation next week will be the perfect way to buffer my descent back into the little known 8th circle of hell: commuting from Northern NJ.

While living by myself certainly had its challenges–a roof leak in my room had me sleeping on the most uncomfortable futon ever made for more nights than I would have liked, and cleaning up after a cat wasn’t always a picnic,  it was great not having to deal with the slew of stresses and worries that typically congregate my psyche. Instead, I spent energy on hanging with friends, becoming more of a workaholic than I already was, and finding 100 different ways to cook the same exact food. It was nice not having to worry about getting into work on time, and I really didn’t miss the helplessness that accompanies bumper to bumper traffic through the Lincoln Tunnel at 9:47 am. I liked spending my nights taking after-dinner walks through Brooklyn, or a late-night yoga class, instead of on the highway…in my car. I enjoyed the lack of emotional melt-downs in my life and the occasional Sunday brunch. I just love being independent, and falling into the groove of life in New York City.

But alas, it’s all coming to an end, at least for now. Of course, I’m looking forward to moving back to my free room, with its free laundry facilities and free meals. It’ll be nice to save a few more paychecks and get back on board with my budget, which was thrown to the wind when I crossed that bridge. I’m just hoping I’ve stored up enough positive, peaceful yen to get me through the next few months.  And there’s always Craigslist when I’m feeling especially weak. Nothing like astronomical rents to remind me why I’m living at home until I have a permanent job!

Leave a Reply

