Apartment Hunt Part 2, Round 2…..SUCCESS!

31 Oct

Just a few weeks ago, I restarted my apartment hunt, and just last night, I moved in!

Yeaaahhhhh….life’s been a bit of a blur lately, and my apartment hunt was even more speedy–I looked at one place and signed the papers! Technically, this was the 14th place I had seen overall, if you count my ill-fated attempts with Mr. Smokestack  a few months ago. But the apartment is beautiful, naturally outside my price range, but not outrageously so, and the clincher: It’s 20 MINUTES FROM WORK. I don’t think I had admired the atomic clock on the stove for more than 15 seconds before I was signing the lease and whipping off certified checks like I had been born with a pen in my hand! The place just felt like mine though….the timing was right, the savings had been saved, and if I had to suffer through one more soul-crushing commute, I was literally going to kill someone. Times were dire, let me tell ya. Plus, did I mention it has a fireplace? A fireplace, people. I can’t get over it.

Of course, the second my brain was filled with apartment details, my work day was filled with insanity, and it’s been a crazy few weeks trying to find time to fit it all in. For the past two weeks, I’d been getting home at 9:30, scarfing down cereal, and then rushing down to an unheated basement to paint my old furniture. Then it was back up to my laptop to spend a ridiculous amount of time planning my bathroom color scheme, which never materialized, and picking a couch, which barely did….but more on that later.

So many more details to share, but now it’s time to hop on the subway and unlock my front door….all before 7 pm! I never thought I’d ever look forward to an evening commute, but it looks like there’s always room for change!

3 Responses to “Apartment Hunt Part 2, Round 2…..SUCCESS!”

  1. Tina November 2, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Hi there! I came across your blog while looking for tips on apartment living. Congrats on your new apartment! I’m still in the
    “looking” category. I look forward to reading your future posts, so keep blogging!!

    • workerbee November 9, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

      Thanks for reading! And best of luck on your hunt!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Different Holiday Season « Working Girl Smiling - December 30, 2011

    […] all the things that have happened this year–trips abroad, a dream job I adore, new friends, a new apartment, JOB SECURITY! Sure, there are still plenty of loose ends in my life, but it finally seems like […]

Leave a Reply

