Snooze Button

17 Nov

I’m getting pretty lax with the snooze button these days. Before I moved, even sleeping in an extra 10 minutes could be catastrophic to my morning commute. Every second became the difference between being on time to work or an hour late. There was absolutely zero middle ground. So when 7:28 arrived, blaring and beeping in my ear, I was up. My morning was a well-oiled machine–3 minutes to get dressed, 5 minutes to do my hair and makeup, 2 minutes to pour my coffee…was I living at West Point, or Western New Jersey??

Now, however, I can get at least another hour of sleep, which you’d think I’d relish and be thankful for, right? O, how quickly we change…when 8:30 rolls around, I just cannot will my body to rise from the pillows. When 8:45 ticks past, my eyes can barely flutter open. When 9:05 beeps me into reality, I start to contemplate actually GETTING OUT OF BED. With 55 minutes until I have to be at work, that still gives me 20 minutes to get out of the house. But do I really need a full 20 minutes? Or could I get away with maybe 15? And that’s when I roll over for a final sprint of sleep.

Yes, in the three weeks I’ve lived in the city, I’ve become extremely lazy. It’s just that my bed is so comfortable! And it takes me 20 MINUTES TO GET TO WORK! Still, a frazzled morning sets the tone for the rest of the day, and as the week rolls on, it’s aching for a little more structure. Back to my morning boot camp? Only if I can get past Sergeant Snooze.

Leave a Reply

