Christmas Spirit

2 Dec

I am really excited for this weekend because I’m going to put up my Christmas tree! And this ain’t no Charlie Brown tree–this is a genuine four foot Canadian pine….except that it’s fake. Listen, I live in an apartment now…it’s a fire safety issue. Also, it was $10, as opposed to the $60 those sidewalk tree stands get!

There were two things that I was most excited about when I decided to move into my own place: 1. I would be close to work and  2. I would get to decorate it for Christmas. I’m not some crazy Christmas fiend or anything, but I can’t stress enough how delightfully un-stressed I am these days, and I’m just really enjoying life right now! During last-year’s holiday season, I was in abject misery, working through the night and questioning every life decision I’d ever made–not exactly the way to get into the holiday spirit! This year, I’ll actually get to enjoy the holidays! Frankly, it was difficult to not put my little tree up Sunday night at 11 pm, when my parents dropped me off after the Thanksgiving weekend!

At least I know what I’ll be doing tonight–hitting that dollar store down the street for some totally tacky Christmas decorations to go with my little gem of a topiary. My faded cut paper snowflakes from college aren’t going to cut it this year! I have an apartment to fill with holiday cheer, and a mood to match!

One Response to “Christmas Spirit”

  1. SingleDC December 3, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    No more faded college snowflakes? What are you a real person now!?

Leave a Reply

