Merry Christmas Bitches

13 Dec

IT IS ON! Last Friday, it was announced that there would be an office decorating contest for the holidays, and like wild-fire, ideas were brainstormed,  Youtube how-tos were viewed, and dollar stores were ransacked. In the haze of my life last week, I spent an unacceptable amount of time trying to think of ways to build an architectural model of an igloo that would be suspended above my cube, before realizing that idea was a. Crazy and b. Logistically impossible given the time constraints and my complete lack of architecture knowledge. So I settled on the next best thing: Turning my cube into a giant peppermint.

Of course, this idea came after many minutes of plotting and formulating with my coworkers, who had already gotten started wallpapering every free surface with wrapping paper and had snipped snowflakes from leftover computer paper. I was so wired after my insane work week I ended up staying up until 5 am Friday night, ideas whirling through my brain at rapid speed. While I’m a bit ashamed to admit it, sometime between the hours of 3 and 4 am I drew out my master plan, made a list of materials, and fashioned a to-do list. Type A, anyone??

The stakes for this contest are pretty high (although yet to be known!), and everyone has stepped up to the plate. There is a giant inflatable snowman in a cubicle upstairs, an entire office wrapped in wrapping paper and bows, a gingerbread house currently in progress, and lots of hanging lights and tinsel. There was even talk of a live nativity in place for the judging on Friday! I stayed late last night lining my cube with a red tablecloth and whipping out paper peppermints with an artist’s hand. And the pièce de résistance is the canopy of crepe paper I have suspended above my desk. It looks AWESOME. (Pictures to come!)

I may have a healthy sense of competition, but it has become a throw down around here! It’s floor against floor, cube against cube! We do not mess around in this office! Let’s just hope I can get it all done by Friday..I still have at least 20 peppermints to crank out before all is said and done! And can I really compete against my colleague who spent SEVENTY DOLLARS on decorations? Only time will tell….Friday is judgement day. BOOM.

One Response to “Merry Christmas Bitches”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Greatest Gift « Working Girl Smiling - December 11, 2012

    […] will be year two of the now infamous cube decorating contest, and everyone is bringing their A-game. After last year’s smashing success of my […]

Leave a Reply

