So Much for That

4 Jan

Well, I’m only four days into the new year and already some of my resolutions have gone to hell in a hand basket!

One of my resolutions this year is to be more put together–while I consider myself an organized person overall, I would not characterize myself in this manner between the hours of 8:30 and 10 am! My plan was to get up earlier in the mornings, perhaps fix myself a cup of tea and flip through a magazine, before changing into a pre-picked outfit and grabbing my pre-made lunch from the fridge. I’d snap my perfectly organized purse shut–complete with keys and cellphone–and be off on my merry way, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed.

But instead, for the past two days that I’ve had to get up for work, I’ve literally left myself 15 minutes to get ready and out the door.

This is not enough time.

I’ve been running around my apartment, one shoe on, one shoe off, making lunch while applying lip gloss, shoving my watch and earrings into my coat pocket, pulling on one glove instead of two, haphazardly tying my scarf while pinning up my hair–in short, I am exactly how I was in 2011: an absolute morning mess.

Now, I’ve been attempting to get up earlier since the dawn of time–I can’t remember a single instance where my alarm goes off and I am up and raring to go! And now that my apartment is actually a comfortable temperature, that annoying beeping just becomes an excuse to flip over and catch another 10 minutes of snooze time deep under my covers! But arriving at work looking like a frazzled psychotic person is not really the image I’m trying to portray to the people I work with! Would it really be so hard to wake up just a tad earlier if it set the tone for the rest of the day? I’ll give it a go…next week.

One Response to “So Much for That”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not Again!! « Working Girl Smiling - November 7, 2012

    […] frazzled last-minute clothing choices. This is just one of the many casualties of my disastrous morning routine. And in all honestly, I  can’t even say I’ve been trying that hard to change! This […]

Leave a Reply

