TGTC–Thank God There’s Coffee

12 Jan

I have been perpetually tired lately. I don’t know if it’s the weather, or the fact that work has slowed down a bit and I’m not as engaged, but I am just dragging when I get in in the mornings! (And in the afternoons….and when I leave at night.) It’s been even tougher the past week because our coffee machine has been broken.

We have one of those lovely single serving coffee machines in the office, and I have taken a particular liking to the French Vanilla flavor. In my defense, it doesn’t really make a full cup, so guzzling down three or four of those puppies in a given morning isn’t that crazy. But for the past two weeks, my coffee consumption has plummeted to just a cup a day, because I have to secretly smuggle coffee from the other machines in different departments, and I get a little self-conscious about it. I mean, it’s free, but still. I’m weird.

I also refuse to buy coffee, specifically Starbucks coffee. Why is it so expensive? I just don’t get that at all. My boss gave all of us gift cards there and I spent mine in just two trips! The coffee is good, but it isn’t that good. Anyway, the bottom line is that I have been jonesing for some coffee for the past two weeks, and yesterday, just when I thought I was going to crack and blow a week’s salary on a half-caf-mocha-latte-grande-frappacino-cappuchino thingy,  a new machine arrived and they restocked all the coffees!

It’s been a rather glorious day, and I’ve basically been drinking coffee throughout all of it. Two cups when I got in, a cup after lunch, one at 5 pm…maybe I can squeeze in one more roast before the end of the day! I have to make up for lost time! Although when I’m staring at the ceiling at 3 am, I’ll have no one to blame but myself. At least I can re-fuel come morning!

One Response to “TGTC–Thank God There’s Coffee”

  1. scry January 16, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    I’m more of a tea person, but i completely get what you mean…
    (I found you through hellogiggles, in case you wonder, and i loved your blog!)
    =)

Leave a Reply

