Finish Line

21 Feb

The great poet Ice Cube summed up my week last week pretty nicely: “Life ain’t a track meet, it’s a marathon…” And while I didn’t burn as many (if any at all) calories working as I would have if I had run a marathon, it was certainly a bit of a slog! I think I was getting less than 5 hours of sleep a night towards the end of it, I had the same humus wrap for dinner for five nights straight, and my mental playback of Whitney songs made me a human karaoke machine! Give me the first note and I was wailing away, much to the chagrin of the producer I was working with….

But when Friday night rolled around, the euphoria of finishing such a huge show in such a limited amount of time cast a nice wave of relief over everyone. We sat around eating pizza and swapping stories until we were goodnighted, but even then people were hesitant to leave. What were we supposed to do now?! Obviously, I immediately hit the town and partied it up like the hip and crazy night owl I am…..that is a lie. I actually went home and immediately hit my bed and fell asleep. It may or may not have been 9:30 at this point. I have no shame!

Now is the brief but enjoyable time when people are hiding in their cubes, praying for world peace and no more deaths, at least for the next week or so. And since our show did so well, they brought in free breakfast this morning! This is something I could live with: work 60 hours a week for a semi-3-day weekend and a free bagel on Tuesday morning! I’m sure by tomorrow I’ll be ready to jump back into it–give me more than 6 hours of free time and I’m ready to suit up for another crazy run.

Leave a Reply

