I Was Early To Stuff This Weekend

12 Mar

This weekend was full of rarities, namely that I was early to lots of stuff! This almost never happens–I typically have no idea what time I’ll be able to get somewhere until I’m on my way out of the office. Since my work hours change so rapidly, making plans goes something like this:

Text to my friends: I can totally leave work at 6:30 tonight and I’ll be on time! Crazy!

20 minutes later: 

Me: I’m stuck at work, I’ll text you when I leave.

10 hours later:

Me: I’m still at work….this stinks! We’ll hang out soon!

Ok, so maybe that’s a slight exaggeration, but there have been many nights where I’m heart-set on heading out only to get roped in and stuck at work for hours on end. But Friday night was a lucky night, where I was not only able to leave work at a reasonable hour, but I made it to a birthday party before the birthday girl herself! Not only was I early to dinner, but took a cab with some friends afterwards and made it to karaoke night early! Then the next day, I managed to catch the trains just right and got to an improv show early enough to pick up everyone’s tickets! It was magical. And it didn’t stop there! On Sunday, I did my laundry, and after dropping it off headed to the library to drop of my books….a day early! Then when I came back to the laundromat, there was a minute left on the dryer! EARLY!

Of course, this strike of promptness didn’t last through this morning, when I woke up a half hour late. Sigh. It was fun while it lasted!

Leave a Reply

