An Idle Mind is the Devil’s Playground

15 Mar

This has been a slow week at work, and I am going seriously stir-crazy. Despite the fact that I’ve worked here for over a year, it still catches me off guard how quickly and dramatically my schedule can change! Fortunately, spring has hit the Big Apple, so I’ve managed to bag some rays during my lunch hour and catch up on my New York Times article queue, two of my favorite hobbies! Although I’m surprised my paleness hasn’t blinded me from reading at all!

Needless to say, this week has given me a lot of time to think, which is frankly not the best use of my time when my mind is idle. Unnecessary questions keep sprouting up–Why aren’t I busier? What did I do wrong? Am I going to get fired? Despite the fact that these are all (hopefully) irrational thoughts, a quiet week is an invitation back to the land of self-doubt. You’d think I’d be past that stage at this point, but apparently I can only confidently function when I’m working sixty hours a week at a breakneck pace!

Because of the absence of more pressing details peppering my day, I’ve been unable to curb my growing list of obsessions, which include, in no particular order: finding the perfect end table for my apartment, finding the perfect floor lamp to sit next to the perfect end table in my apartment, France, hair straighteners, DIY wall art, self-publishing, the upcoming HBO show Girls, my next vacation, the purse selection at Forever 21, the entire travel section of the Times, neon accessories, typography, and the Dear Prudence column on Slate.

Memo to my boss: Please assign me to something before I become the lamest person ever!

Leave a Reply

