Summer on the Brain

22 Jun

Here is a list of things I feel like doing today:

1. Going to the beach

2. Eating ice cream

3. Swimming

And here is a list of what I don’t feel like doing today:

1. Working

2. Doing anything remotely productive

Ah, summer is here! Despite the fact I have a rather large to-do list today, my motivation is wavering pretty far down on the productivity scale! It’s like a switch went off in my brain the second the temperature started creeping up, any thoughts of work promptly replaced by play. This is my third summer out of school, so you’d think that at this point, I’d have less of a reaction to the summer=break equation. But alas, school lets out, and my mind is preoccupied by the tinkering of the ice cream truck and my next opportunity to work on my tan!

I wish I could still indulge in these summer joys, but I have a sizable amount of work that needs to get done. However, the toasty weather, the empty Friday office and the anticipation of my fun weekend plans are too distracting! I’ve been at work for two hours and have managed to get two things done, neither of which take an hour apiece! I need to clear my head….perhaps a trip to the gelato stand will get me back on track? Hey, it’s worth a shot!

Leave a Reply

