Au Revoir, Apprehension

8 Oct

Last week was a much-needed pick-me-up on the job front! I headed down to Atlanta, Georgia for a few days for a project I’m working on, and it ended up being an unexpected blast! I came back with refreshed confidence and a newly discovered love of hotel room service! I also somehow managed to not a.) dent the rental car while parallel parking and b.) speak in a fake-Southern accent, so all-in-all, I’d say it was a success!

This trip couldn’t have come at a better time, since all summer and most of September had passed with very little on my plate. How I WISH I was the kind of person who relishes in down time, but alas, all slow days lead to are racing thoughts on what I’m doing with my life and whether or not I should move to France. I was just feeling flat and uninspired when October rolled around, and was hoping this trip would get me out of my funk.

…Which it did! The trip was a perfect combination of the things I love about my job: getting to work with great people, challenging myself with new skills, and staying in really nice hotels I didn’t have to pay for! Kidding, (although the hotel was pretty swank!) but it was nice to feel excited about my work again!

Talk about an attitude adjustment! I got into work this morning fresh and focused, ready to tackle the day! Sometimes, it just takes a little shake up to settle my errant and erratic thoughts…I guess my garret et garçon à Paris will have to wait!

One Response to “Au Revoir, Apprehension”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Well, So Much For That « Working Girl Smiling - October 10, 2012

    […] a much-needed interview. Let us also recall how that same cloud transported me through a pleasant business trip, dropping me off on a pillowy puff of work contentedness. Well yesterday, that fluffy cloud became […]

Leave a Reply

