So Close…Yet O So Far

12 Oct

For two nights in a row, I’ve attempted to leave work, only to get roped back in as I’m walking out the door! Well, the first night, I was actually out the door and half-way up the street, after leaving a little early to meet up with some friends. Out of habit,  I checked my email one last time before descending the stairs to the subway, and wouldn’t you know! There was an urgent message for an assignment that needed to be done that very night! For a full minute, I contemplated continuing down the stairs, before my conscience dragged me back up and back to work. When I got back to my desk, it felt like I had never left! Hmm, I wonder why…

Then last night, after a much more pleasant day, I slung my purse over my shoulder and was making my way down the hallway when my desk phone rang. Knowing I wouldn’t be able to sneak off that easily, I answered it, plopped back into my office chair, and settled in for a few more hours of office duty!

Obviously I don’t have a problem working late–I do it more often than not! But when you have it in your head that you’re leaving, and then someone else more important than you has it in their head that you’re staying, it makes those final hours drag!  Especially after the week I’ve had, I was looking forward to getting as far away from this place as possible, but as usual, work had other ideas! As the saying goes, when it rains, it pours, and this week has been a torrential thunderstorm!

But fortunately, the end is near!  Tonight, I have a bus ticket out of this city and up to New England for a weekend filled with relaxation, plaid, and some sisterly bonding. It’s just what I need…as long as I can get out of here on time! I should start applying the camouflage now if I have any hope of making that bus! Wonder if anyone will notice if I cover my face with an accordion file…seems like a fail-safe route to me!

Leave a Reply

