Mirror, Mirror

7 Dec

vintage-photo-of-woman-applying-makeup-240bes102710I have officially changed lives! Ah, such modesty…but the dinner I attended the other night was great! I was a little apprehensive both to give advice and sit at the table I was assigned to–a few reporters from the New York Times and a 60 Minutes producer were within arms reach! Fortunately I resisted fawning too shamelessly, and as much as I wanted to, did not ask the New York Times reporters how it felt to even walk into that building everyday and breathe air filled with excellent journalism! So all in all, I kept myself under control!

That’s the thing though: here I was, admiring my colleagues and fantasizing about what it would be like to have their careers, when all around me were students thinking the same thing about me! It was pretty illuminating on a personal level to see myself in these students, and then to recognize how much I’ve grown and the confidence I’ve gained since graduating. It was such a relief to know that I would never again feel so lost and terrified by the unknown. Of course, not every student was as over-dramatic as me, but the general consensus of really really wanting to be successful and not really knowing how/if/when it would be happening was something I could certainly relate to!

So all-in-all, it was a really cool night. Of course, not everything could go so smoothly, and I ended up choking on a forkful of Basmati rice right in the middle of reassuring a student that jobs do exist and she wouldn’t have to work at a Forever 21 for the rest of her life. It got pretty emotional–she thought I was crying, I thought I was dying…you know, just the usual dinnertime conundrum. But with a sharp rap on the back from her and some career advice from me, things ended pretty well and we formed an unbreakable bond! Whatever it takes to make a difference, right?!

Leave a Reply

