The Greatest Gift

11 Dec

2uw-radio-station-vintage-christmas-tree-decoratingIt’s that time of year again… CHRISTMAS CUBE DECORATING TIME.

I AM EXCITED.

This will be year two of the now infamous cube decorating contest, and everyone is bringing their A-game. After last year’s smashing success of my “Peppermint Pavilion,” where I won awards and acclaim for my artistry and creativity…O WAIT. I DIDN’T WIN ANYTHING. I WAS NEITHER AWARDED NOR ACCLAIMED. I put a lot of effort into that masterpiece, and spent an entire week wearing the same red-and-white striped blouse because they kept moving the judging time! And then to have my glory ripped away from me like a tattered shred of peppermint-printed paper…it still stings!

If you couldn’t already tell, I’m a pretty competitive person, and have been looking at last year’s experience with a critical eye. I think my over-zealous nature was a real hindrance last year, because by the time I was done, people were just starting! So this year, I’m holding my cards close to the chest! I’ve been laboring away at cranking out my decorative elements in the darkness of the night and will start constructing when curiosity is at its peak! I’m also adding lights, because that was apparently the only criteria that upstaged STREAMERS TWISTED FROM THE CEILING IN A VISUALLY PLEASING WAY.

Needless to say, IT’S ON. And to the people who stole the “Most Traditional Christmas” title away from me….YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE. And actually, one of them doesn’t even work here anymore, so that’s one less obstacle towards redemption!

Leave a Reply

