Beauty Queen

19 Jul

beauty salon_vintage_blog_chá_com_cupcakesI’m having some difficulties this week. I’m not talking in the emotional sense like usual, but more physically, by which of course I mean MY HAIR IS BECOMING A PROBLEM. This is because it’s approximately 100 degrees out, which is a level of heat my hair does not agree with. I’ve given up on wearing it down, since anything that comes in contact with the back of my neck will automatically burst into flames, and even attempting to style it when it’s up is useless, since it’s just so unbelievably humid! Instead, I’ve resorted to flipping my head over and gathering all my hair in a high ponytail. I briefly pretended that this style looked “sleek” and “fresh” like all the magazines say, and have now just accepted that looks “lazy” and “bad.”

And then there’s my face, which has rejected all applications of makeup after I emerged from the subway on Monday with mascara dripping halfway down my cheeks. I decided I’d adapt the more “natural” look which just really isn’t working for me. Plus, inexplicably, I have a scratch on the bridge of my nose that looks exactly like an errant Sharpie mark, so at least ten times a day, I’ve had to say, “Not Sharpie, it’s just my face this week” to curious coworkers.

Sheesh. If only the temperature would drop as much as my self-esteem has! I would say a trip to the salon would do the trick, but we all know how that usually turns out…

Leave a Reply

